The Warning Call

I grew up on a farm in a remote area and I have always been uneasy about being in the house by myself at night. There are no street lights in the area and, at night, it is pitch black outside.
One night, my parents went out and I was home alone. I was sitting on the couch when the phone rang. I picked it up and heard an automated voice say, “Would you like to accept a collect from…” Then I heard a voice say my name. It was my voice.
I was freaked out, but I accepted the call. “Hello?” I said nervously. There was no reply. I could hear someone breathing on the other end of the line. Then, they hung up.
I was standing by the sliding glass doors in the kitchen and, just then, I happened to glance outside. In the darkness, I could make out a figure standing there. I was so terrified, I ran to my dad’s room and grabbed his gun. I hid there in the bedroom and I didn’t come out until my parents returned 20 minutes later.
I still don’t know what happened that night. Was it the future me calling to warn me? Did that call save my life?

